Root Cause

Do you know that almost all people in this world have a chance to become an unlikeable person in a bad situation?

I do. Sometimes it only takes a teeny-tiny wrong situation to change people.

I have a small bad experience with people who suddenly became an unlikeable person. It happened once when I was on my shift. The place was so busy and there was a really long queue of customers. Usually there were not many people work at night shift, so everyone was extremely busy.

When the customers have to wait too long, sometimes they became impatient. Impatient people often said bad comments. One or two bad comments were bearable. But when it became harsh comments, it started to get on someone’s nerves – my co-worker’s nerves. She usually is a nice person. But at that time, she became an unlikeable person. She started yelling and saying unnecessary hurtful words not to the customers, but to her co-worker. Because of what? Because of the situation, she might be in a panic condition or only God knows what.

I’m a little bit of a sensitive person, I don’t like to be yelled or lectured when I was right, when I was doing my hard work. But then I remember, I had experienced the same kind of situation. I should have tolerated her, so I tried to understand. It works, even though until now I still don’t like her as much as before. At that time, I was trying not to be angry, to feel that it didn’t hurt, to try to brainwash myself that it was not her fault to be rude.

Sometimes people can do mistakes. Maybe, even the nicest person in the world. 

A couple of days ago, when I was home with kids, I was becoming the angry unlikable person. Because of what? Messy house, lots of things to do in the short time and I was not feeling well. I kept shouting to my kids, asking them to tidy up or quickly do what they must do. I know, I shouldn’t do that. I was becoming an unlikeable person for my kids.

I am the kind of person who will have mood swing whenever my place is messy. When I was young, I never realized how I can be really irritated with a messy place because my mum always kept the house clean and tidy. When the first time I moved out, I have less stuff so my share house was always clean and tidy. When I was working full time, Saturday morning was always my clean-up day, so I will have Saturday afternoon and whole Sunday to relax in a sparkling clean room. But now, with kids and husband, everything is different (they are a different kind of person from me, maybe it’s hard for them to understand what I felt).

So, there is always a way to not be an unlikeable person. In my case, I have to make my place to become an easy and manageable place. I’m still working on it. If you have the same issue – becoming unlikeable in a certain condition – my suggestion is to find the root cause 😊 good luck!

Leave a comment